WHAT I READ–Update

I am still engaged in the reading initiative, but haven’t been doing daily posts primarily out of laziness.

I have spent the last several days reading this book:

http://www.amazon.com/NET-Parallel-Programming-Experts-Voice/dp/1430229675/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1332305884&sr=8-1

There’s a lot to TPL. The book really dives into all of the details. I’m very pleased with it, and I’m learning a lot. There are some things that I probably won’t ever need to do, such as writing my own partitioner, but now I know what that is, how it works, and how to write one if I wanted to.

It covers the built in locking primitives, explains the difference between the old ones and the Slim ones, and gives examples of each one in progress. It covered BlockingCollection<T>, which I hadn’t used before.

Chock full of useful info. It’s immediately valuable.

Leave a Reply

