NOODB: Not much of an update

I’ve been taking it easy the last few days. Finishing projections was a big deal. There are about 1,000 more things to do, but the fact that I can build 90% of DvdFriend.us without any additional NOODB means that I can take a breather.

As I build the NOODB demo version of the DvdFriend site, I want each page to display the queries that were executed to construct the page. I goofed around with that a bit, but wasn’t really in the mood.

I also want a NOODB admin page so you can go run some queries and see how it works. I hate building web pages. I spent some time learning some basic JQuery things so that I can use it. The result is a QUERY window and a QUERY RESULTS window. Both are draggable and resizable. I’m having zindex trouble, but otherwise it looks ok.

I have a plain text banner on the top that displays NOODB, and the tentative slogan of  “For when you just want to save some objects”.

I leeched part of an image to put behind the window title bars. It’s too short, so doesn’t look right. I’m not excited about that.

Lastly, I put a picture taken by the Hubble telescope as the background. Swell.

The dilemma is that I need decent looking pages and a decent looking admin site so that cosmetics atrocity don’t turn people away without running some queries. The problem is that I really have no interest in building any web pages. It’d be swell to have some help on those aspects of it.

Oh well, I’ll keep picking away at it. When I get too bored, I’ll switch to something more interesting. As I said, there are still plenty of things to do.

Screenshots coming soon.

Leave a Reply

